Let Christ Shine Through

We recently had family pictures taken, and have been gratified by all the kind comments we have received from our friends and family. One running theme of these comments is how happy I look in these pictures. I find this interesting, as I don’t feel any happier than usual, even given the fact that we recently moved to paradise. Truthfully, the difference in these pictures is not my FEELING of happiness, but my EXPRESSION of it. You see, my dear photographer friend coaxed and coached that smile to my face. She knows the joy I have inside, and drew it to the surface for all to see.

What a valuable lesson this is for so many aspects of life! So often, I desire to be a better witness for Christ, parent, wife, and business woman. Unfortunately, my strengths and passions too frequently remain hidden beneath the surface of my reserved countenance and introverted personality, or are stifled by my lack of confidence. But, as our new pictures remind me, learning from someone with experience and wisdom can be transforming! How I pray for qualified and godly mentors in my life, who, like my sweet photographer, will work with me to bring my strengths to light so that I can shine for the glory of God!

…let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father who is in heaven (Matthew 5:16, ESV).

One thought on “Let Christ Shine Through”

Leave a Reply

