Contemplations of a Frequent Mover

I woke up with an all-too familiar feeling in my stomach–a mixture of exhaustion, anxiety, and dread. Checklists immediately began coursing through my mind. Had I packed the right combination of clothes for the next two months? Set aside enough dishes in the designated “DO NOT PACK” area? Forgotten any important documents? What about phone chargers, house keys, car keys—oh my, I need to remember to move the van out of the driveway first thing this morning! Despairing of any further sleep, I rolled out of bed and prepared to face it: Moving Day. As many times as the Air Force has moved us, you might think we would have it down to a science, but usually it comes down instead to a panicked, last minute retrieval of those almost-forgotten important items.

Determined to start my day peacefully before the flurry of activity commenced, I sat down with my Bible and opened to my current study of Ecclesiastes. And God, as He so often does, met me at my point of need. The focal verse of the day was Ecclesiastes 6:10: “Whatever has come to be has already been named, and it is known what man is, and that he is not able to dispute with one stronger than he.” Cross-referencing the phrase, “Whatever has come to be has already been named,” I read the following verses:

 …in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there was none of them (Psalm 139:6).

For those whom he foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son, in order that he might be the firstborn among many brothers. And those whom he predestined he also called, and those whom he called he also justified, and those whom he justified he also glorified (Romans 8:29-30).

 And one of my favorites:

And he made from one man every nation of mankind to live on all the face of the earth, having determined allotted periods and boundaries of their dwelling place (Acts 17:26).

What a poignant, timely reminder that God has ordained every single one of our Air Force moves, and that He has a purpose for placing us in all ten of those locations. As I contemplated this truth, my focus began to shift from the pain of the moving process to anticipation of the unfolding of God’s plan for us at our next duty station. For the God who calls us promises to enable us to fulfill all aspects of that calling (Hebrews 13:20-21), including preparing our household to be packed up and moved every few years. And as we move from place to place, following God’s lead, He works in us to fulfill His ultimate plan for our lives: becoming more like Christ.

Now may the God of peace who brought again from the dead our Lord Jesus, the great shepherd of the sheep, by the blood of the eternal covenant, equip you with everything good that you may do his will, working in us that which is pleasing in his sight, through Jesus Christ, to whom be glory forever and ever. Amen. Hebrews 13:20-21

 

One thought on “Contemplations of a Frequent Mover”

Leave a Reply

